Herring Gull

Finally I could get a positive and convincing ID on a very good bird photo I took back in January….my birder sense tells me its a RingBilledGull (but it´s not), other options where Herring Gull and some arctic gull that wouldnt make any sense to have all the way down here (though it has happened with Skuas).
Anyways, this is one the best photos Ive taken so far…the original uncropped photo is real huge (full 8 megapixel closeup). Then again ID´ing this bird has proven difficult..Why are shorebirds so complicated arghhhhh!!!!.

I think I got the ID right …. so there you have my second lifer for 2008 the Herring Gull

Spotted at Cienaguita beach near Omoa late january 2008 at around 0700 hours, cloudy, windy and somewhat showery morning. The bird was not stressed by my presence that`s why I could get so near.

In Canada, most seagulls are Herring Gulls Larus argentatus. The adult Herring Gull is about 61 cm long from the tip of its bill to the tip of its tail. Its head, body, and tail are white, its bill is yellow with a red spot on the lower tip, and its legs are pink or flesh-coloured. The backs and upper wing surfaces of adult gulls are grey, and the tips of their outermost flight feathers are black with a white spot. In winter, the heads of adult gulls are streaked with brown. Immature birds are a mottled brown and take four years to develop full adult plumage.

~ por Luis Daniel en febrero 10, 2008.

4 comentarios to “Herring Gull”

  1. I have a pic of a similar looking bird, but mind you my camera is not as good as yours and im not the best photographer. But it didn´t get fussed over my pressence either, and stood there for a long time. I hadnt seen it before, because im used to just seeing sea gulls and etc

  2. Where did you see this bird Ara?

  3. Utila, Water Cay

  4. It´s been a while since I´ve been in Utila…cool place

Responder

 
