Random Photo: Turkey Vulture Roost

Guayaba Dorada Beach near Coyolito, Valle.
November 2007

Vulture
by Robinson Jeffers

I had walked since dawn and lay down to rest on a bare hillside above the ocean. I saw through half-shut eyelids a vulture wheeling high up in heaven, and presently it passed again, but lower and nearer, its orbit narrowing, I understood then that I was under inspection.

I lay death-still and heard the flight-feathers whistle above me and make their circle and come nearer. I could see the naked red head between the great wings bear downward staring.

I said, “My dear bird, we are wasting time here these old bones will still work; they are not for you.” But how beautiful he looked, gliding down on those great sails; how beautiful he looked, veering away in the sea-light over the precipice.

I tell you solemnly that I was sorry to have disappointed him. To be eaten by that beak and become part of him, to share those wings and those eyes what a sublime end of one’s body, what and enskyment; what a life after death.

~ por Luis Daniel en marzo 24, 2009.

Una respuesta to “Random Photo: Turkey Vulture Roost”

  1. Hola
    Me gustaria visitar estos días de vacaciones guayaba dorada si me puedes enviar los precios de entrada y rutas de abceso por favor

Responder

 
